eGads!

I read with interest a colleague’s blog about her attachment to her Kindle. I am ashamed to say that I had never heard of a Kindle before, but now that I am aware of them, I see references to it everywhere.  Kindles are eReaders. You can download a novel and read it on a small screen. You can do this on an iPad too. You don’t really have to buy a book anymore.

An article in last week’s Sunday Age discussed the implications of the iPad’s popularity spurring rivals (e.g Amazon) into action and the opportunities for publishers. Some iPad users credit this device with an increase in their reading:

”Also, I’ve started reading a lot more. I’ve completely stopped buying books, and I love the idea of there being so many novels you can download. I went to the dentist last week and while I was in the waiting room I just got the iPad out and read a book, which I wouldn’t usually do. At night I read in bed by the light of the iPad.”

What is the difference between taking an iPad to the dentist and taking a book to the dentist (presuming it is not the Times Atlas of the World?) What is the difference between reading in bed by the light of a lamp or reading in bed by the light of the iPad?

When my first son was in primary school and an avid reader (sadly he is a teenager now and more interested in other things),  he would close each book, place it carefully and proudly on his bookshelf and say “I’ll give that book to my children.”

Maybe he won’t. Maybe he’ll just give his children a URL !

2 thoughts on “eGads!”

  1. I’m quite interested in the e-book vs the paper book. But I really wonder if the e-book will ever replace the paper book. Personally, I don’t think I could ever give up paper books. I love how they look in my book shelf, I love that I can carry it in my handbag and it not weigh me down, that I don’t have worry about charging the battery so I can read on the train, I love to give books as gifts and love receiving books. My kids love books and have done since they were tiny (especially those touchy-feely books, which a kindle could never produce) and I can’t imagine snuggling up with a little person for a story and bringing out an electronic device – kind of takes away from the closeness that reading to your children brings. Nevertheless, they are here so I’ll continue to watch and wonder if they will become mainstream. It’s been a few years since I first hear of the concept and it’s not mainstream yet, perhaps the fact that the paper book has stood the test of time thus far, will place it in good stead for the future.

  2. The convenience makes it worth purchasing. If it’s has people reading more, then that’s a bonus. Will it become mainstream? Once cheaper alternatives are available.

Leave a Reply

