In praise of the Radiant Poppy

My mother is a photographer and has recently moved her lens from the expanse of the Australian landscape to the intricacies of flowers. How convenient – an on-line image-bank of Botanica at my disposal. Than ks Mum!

Mum’s birthday card to me this year was a print of one of my favorites from her collection – the Radiant Poppy. I decided to use this print for an exercise in using gouache to tint and tone. Can I replicate the almost tissue-like petals and the hundred-and-one stamens?

It’s a work in progress – I’ll let Mum be the judge!

The Radiant Poppy, by Bette Devine (2012)
The Radiant Poppy, by Bette Devine
My first layer of gouache. I'm pretty happy with it.
My first layer of gouache. I’m pretty happy with it.
The second layer of gouache. I'm falling out of love with it.
The second layer of gouache. I’m falling out of love with it, but I have a long way to go before it is finished.
One thought on “In praise of the Radiant Poppy”

Leave a Reply

